“After beating Levante 1-0 at the Camp Nou, FC Barcelona lifted its 26th league title. An eighth domestic championship in the last eleven years, and  the tenth for Lionel Messi. It’s also the second in two seasons for Ernesto Valverde, a goal reached by only five coaches previously in the history of the club.

The coach from Viandar de la Vera has won the 2017/18 and 2018/19 league titles, a record that only Luis Enrique Martínez, Josep Guardiola, Louis van Gaal, Helenio Herrera and Enrique Fernández can match.

Coaches who have won the league in their first two seasons

1947/48Enrique Fernández
1948/49Enrique Fernández
1958/59Helenio Herrera*
1959/60Helenio Herrera
1998/99Louis Van Gaal
1999/00Louis Van Gaal
2008/09Josep Guardiola
2009/10Josep Guardiola
2010/11Josep Guardiola*
2014/15Luis Enrique Martínez
2015/16Luis Enrique Martínez
2017/18Ernesto Valverde
2018/19Ernesto Valverde

* Helenio Herrera made his debut as coach of FC Barcelona at the end of the 1957/58 season.
* Guardiola won three consecutive leagues.”

News – FC Barcelona Official website